With three books and counting in the Dark Earth Rising series, an explanation is a bit overdue! So here it is:

Dark Earth Rising is the title of my series of standalone horror books that can be read in any order.

~So far, there are no recurring characters.

~The books in the series are connected by a theme: basically, something connected to nature/the environment/a place strikes back.

~ I wrote The Devil’s Shallows first. It’s a coastal horror novel with cryptids set on the Central Coast of California.

~ The Root Witch came next. It’s a forest horror novel that unfolds in 1986, Utah, and is based on the short story, The Root Witch: An Urban Legend Caught on Tape. 

~ The Copper Man is the latest full-length novel. It’s an eco/supernatural horror story set in a remote mining town in Wyoming.

~ Circus at Devil’s Landing is the origin story of the creatures in The Devil’s Shallows and is available for pre-order. The novella releases on July 6, 2023. It’s a dark fantasy set in 1906.

~ Next up: A Dark and Rising Tide, a coastal horror novel inspired by the massive storm that hit my hometown of Capitola-by-the-Sea, California. Releasing Fall 2023.